Wk 4- Artist Interview- Jeannette Viveros

IMG_3134

Jeannette Viveros, everyone!
After our class last Tuesday, my friends and I walked to the art galleries (because we really don’t have things to do) to get a sneak peek of the new exhibits. The Merlino wasn’t open the first few minutes we were there, but then this lady came running from who knows where and she immediately opened the gallery. It was great, we knew by then that it was her. It’s her installation. We waited, and we were presented by something greater than what I expected.

Jeannette’s installation involves pink fur, pink ribbons, and what looks like really dangerous fish hooks. It’s not even those baby fish hooks that my dad uses for fishing- iIMG_3130t’s those legit and BIG fish hooks that people use for bigger fish. The hooks are dangling from the ceiling, held together by the ribbons in the middle of the room. There’s little space to get in between the fur and the hooks, so it is IMPERATIVE that if you as the spectator do NOT want to get hooked, you toUCH the FUR WALL. IT’S SO COOL. It was like hugging a really soft, pink teddy bear.

When I got to ask Jeannette a couple of questions, she talked less about the individual things that make up the installation. What she did talked a lot about was the space in its entirety- including the space in between the centerpiece and the walls. When she said that, that made me read her work differently. Like last week, again I wanted this installment to mean the way I wanted to see it (something I really have to stop doing). This time however, I did kind of hit close to Jeannette’s message. She said this installation “focuses on social expectations based on genders”. That makes sense to me. I see that maybe the pink fur wall is what society expects a person, or a woman, to be: soft, loving, and caring; but the hooks could stand for the real personality of a woman- someone who is strong and has the ability to pierce through any adversity thrown at her. Just because pink is what society deems as the color for “girls” doesn’t mean that all that attributes to the color pink, in terms of senses or appearance, defines a girl.

IMG_3133

I’m in love with this installation. At first glance, I thought Jeannette was inspired by that one episode in Spongebob where he and Patrick started playing around with the hooks. Apparently, people had been asking and telling her about that episode and she’s been patiently telling everyone that it is not related to Spongebob (I heard she also mentioned she dislikes Spongebob).  I was going to mindlessly ask her about this, but omg thank you the the art gods that I didn’t continue to ask.

What got me in a puzzle was when Jeannette said that the spaces in between the installation mean something. WHAT DOES THE SPACE MEAN? I am so confused. Is it not empty? Is it not supposed to be empty? I can’t read anything that isn’t there. Does the space represent the emptiness people feel? Does it represent the emptiness Jeannette feels? Is this a subtle hint to say that most people have this void they can’t really escape? My head is running in circles again…

Nonetheless, this was a great installation. From the get-go, I could tell that Jeannette really thought about how she was going to show her perspective, and I’m glad it resulted to this. I love pink, not so much furs, and I hate pointy things, but the entire installation grew on me. It’s like one of those inspirational tumblr posts about how girls can be very girly and soft, but we could also be hard and be a bunch of bad-asses. Speaking of being girly, yet bad ass:IMG_3145Here is a picture of my friend Allison! She’s so cute with her polka-dotted dress, but surprise, surprise! She’s like the walking deity of all things girly, but bad ass. Hahaahahahaha. Ok I’m done. Thank you Ally!
And thank you Jeannette for a wonderful installation!
IMG_3129

3 thoughts on “Wk 4- Artist Interview- Jeannette Viveros

  1. Beautiful Anna.

    You don’t necessarily have to have the same “read” on the piece as the artist. Your own perspectives and life experience are also relevant.

    I spoke recently with someone who was upset that a show in a major museum talked about a work in purely formal terms and said nothing about the “obviously” gay themes in the piece. In that case the artist was a major artist who was gay and who had died young from AIDS. The person I was speaking to was therefore probably correct in their read, and also in their complaint that if you’re going to call yourself a curator at a major museum, and curate shows with contemporary works, then you should be a lot more educated about the artists and their work.

    Still, for anyone, especially for you as a member of the general public, you’re entitled to your perspective. If you’re really interested in an artist it’s worth some web research or even reading a book, but one should also be “allowed” to walk into a show by someone you don’t know and simply react to what you see.

    It’ll be interesting to see how your perspectives on what you see evolve over the semester.

    BTW, it’s the MerlinO gallery.
    Also, instead of “Installment,” Installation is probably a better term.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Installation_art

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

