Wk 5- Activity- Counterfactual Identity

Before:
ch2tz
After:
ch2vy

To begin this blog post, let’s  go back to Thursday morning, around 830 am where I am walking towards the bus stop.
There were at least ten people waiting, since the morning commutes are always the busiest. I was smiling to myself because I couldn’t believe that I was actually wearing the weirdest leggings I  have ever received from my aunt last Christmas. I previously swore to myself that I was NEVER going to wear these leggings in public, but promises are meant to be broken, so I didn’t think so much about it.

At the bus stop, however, there were two girls, presumably college girls, who started smiling at me. I also saw that in a very fast eye movement, they’ve already scanned me from head to toe. I took this chance and approached them. One of them started laughing, like those nervous laughs people give when they’ve been confIMG_2204ronted , and the other took a step back, as if I was about to attack her. I explained to them what was going on and proceeded with asking them what they think my major is. One of the girls replied with art, and the other agreed as well. In fact, throughout the entire day, many of the people I asked replied with art. Some got more specific with replies like graphic design and illustration. There was this one person who replied environmental studies because I pinned my Yosemite badge with a button I got during Week of Welcome(as seen on the right). That was my favorite response.

Later that day, I met up with a friend who was leaving for UC Davis and she told me I looked bad-ass. It was very different from when I would normally dress girly or “basic”( basic as in shirt/blouse and jeans). She was, in her own way, taken aback. She said that college must have really changed me somehow. I asked her what she thought my major was if she didn’t knew me already, and like the previous responses, she replied art major.

I didn’t exactly get to fake my accent, which now that I think of, I should have! I’ve had practice in changing the way I talked because last summer, I had family friends from Ireland stay with us for two weeks and all I heard for two weeks straight are syllables and pronunciation that gave such posh vibes, that I aggressively wanted to become part of it! (I’m even starting to read books with a weird English accent just so I could practice it).

This activity was so much fun. I wanted to keep myself from smiling or laughing too much because I would’ve looked like a lunatic, but seriously, I’ve come to terms with myself that I shouldn’t really care what other people think of me. The only opinions regarding my happiness that truly matter are my own, and my parents’ opinions because I value their opinion above anyone else’s.

Speaking of parents, my mother barely let me out of the house because of the leggings- she said even though we are not devout Catholics(I was baptized Catholic, but we now practice Protestantism), it was still weird seeing the cross of Peter because it might offend people who’ll see it appear in other kinds of purposes. Just like the American flag shouldn’t be contorted into clothing or jewelry, these kinds of religious symbols shouldn’t be either.

Despite our little argument on whether I should change or not, I went out of the house on my own will that morning and felt the new confidence and freedom I had acquired through changing my appearance via weird clothes- even if it was just for one day. And it turned out to be a very cool day.

2 thoughts on “Wk 5- Activity- Counterfactual Identity

Leave a Reply

