Wk 8- Activity- ePortfolio- SFSH Zine

This has been the most unnerving activity to date. I have a love-hate relationship with WordPress right now.

So here’s what I ended up doing: I created a different blog.

First Blog:

Screen Shot 2014-10-15 at 2.25.28 PM

Which turned into:
Screen Shot 2014-10-18 at 11.43.25 PM

Below is the second blog that is SFSH’s domain:

Screen Shot 2014-10-18 at 11.49.40 PM

Instead of mashing the Art 110 stuff together with SFSH, I just had to separate the two from each other completely. On the menu of ajfloresca.wordpress.com, there is a link to the SFSH website. It’s pretty straight forward once you’re there. I bombard you with a couple of info about the zine and a widget from ISSUU, an online publishing website where I published the first edition of the zine:

As of right now, my goals include getting more content up on the website and meet/gain readers. I looked at some of the magazines on ISSUU and they’re all great. Some of the ones I like are Frrresh Magazine and Cherry. These magazines consist of writings, collages, paintings, drawings, so many good things. My audience for SFSH isn’t exactly definite because I want everyone of all ages to read it. I want people to be drawn in by the zine’s weirdness, and in a way, just appreciate it. They don’t have to analyze and break down everything they read word by word. Reading beyond the homework and school is very healthy to the mind, and I want people to realize that.  In the SFSH Zine #1 on ISSUU, there is a part near the back where I write an “anonymous” letter to a reader. I got this idea from the hashtag #moreloveletters and I plan on incorporating segments of these quick “love” letters in the zine. This hashtag is such a great way to show that people think about other people’s welfare, despite having own troubles. By writing letters of advice, reminders, or appreciation, it makes me content to know that someone will find it and be renewed by it. This is my way of helping other people.

IMG_3538 IMG_3539

5 thoughts on “Wk 8- Activity- ePortfolio- SFSH Zine

  1. Hey Anna, nice job on the zine / WP / Issuu / Tumblr!

    So how come, “This has been the most unnerving activity to date.”?

    And how come, “I have a love-hate relationship with WordPress right now.”?

    Did you have problems? Issues? Tough choices?

    Do you like your new ajfloresca.wp better now? The new one is very visual and crisp, but the old one with some text on the home page also felt pretty “You” and somewhat “zine-y”

    Like

    • At first, I couldn’t figure out how to make separate links for just the Art 110 posts, which now I actually found out that I just had to put the posts in a Category and then make a link for that category.

      Updating the theme itself was pretty hard because WP doesn’t let me fully customize the HTML the way Blogspot or Tumblr does. My frustration was just because of that- I felt that WP is very limiting unless I pay, which never happened on Blogspot or Tumblr.

      I like the new ajfloresca.wp right now. I think I just need to adjust the pictures a little bit to fit the frame.

      I did just create sfshzine.wp now. Before it was a link to the tumblr page, but I saw that more people actually use WP so I thought, why not? In fact, I gained a follower and found out (by snooping around her page) that she exhibited at the DC ZInefest in Washington D.C!

      Like

  2. In software you hear about “Open Source” and “Proprietary”. Famous proprietary things or platforms are like Facebook or MS Windows. Famous Open Source things are like the Firefox browser or the Linux operating system.

    Sometimes, but not always, Open Source software is technically “better” because there can be large communities working together to make it work well and stamp out bugs, viruses etc. A great example is something like Wikipedia. You can actually go there right now and EDIT any of the 4.6 million English articles. But if your edit is wrong, if you went to the Taylor Swift page and put that she’s an alien who eats babies, your edit would be “reverted” in literally less than 2 seconds, and you’d probably get a fairly polite message from someone saying that if you’d like to “experiment” with Wikipedia to learn about it, you might want to use the Wikipedia “sandbox.” At their best, Open communities can be that strong.

    But even when the community isn’t that large and robust, and even when the open source software isn’t “technically better” it still has some important advantages: when you buy proprietary software like MS Windows (or more typically buy a computer with MS Win pre-installed by Toshiba or Dell or somebody) you’re buying a “Closed Source” operating system. You (nor anyone else) knows what it’s doing. You don’t know how many “back doors” they’ve built in so various world governments can monitor your activities, and for that matter, your very ideas. As you probably know, with a platform like Facebook, you are not the “customer” you are the “product.” Facebook “Data Mines” your life and sells you to lots of corporations and governments.

    Open Source software is “Open.” Anybody can look at it, take it apart, change it. That doesn’t do so much for you or me if we aren’t programmers, but it means that lots of peeps who are can see how it works and ask questions about anything that’s questionable from the perspective of freedom or good code or anything else.

    Open Source software is typically (but not necessarily) 0$. Richard Stallman likes to talk about “Free Speech and Free Beer.” His point is that we think we want a “Free Beer”, and while that’s nice, it’s not really essential. But Free Speech is essential to our very way of life.

    Anyway, WordPress is a VERY successful Open Source project. That means that the code is there for anyone to do anything they want with it, anywhere they want it. You can go to WordPress.org right now, download WP 4.0, and run it anywhere you want, any way you want. Millions of people do.

    But besides “WordPress.org” there’s also another “flavor” of WP, WordPress.com. WordPress.org is “self hosted” as in you come up with your own web server. For example CSULB President Jane Conoley uses an installation of WordPress.org for her blog on the CSULB web servers:
    http://www.csulb.edu/sites/president

    President Conoley, nor anyone else at CSULB, pays WordPress anything. You just take the software and do anything you want. However most people don’t happen to have their own IT departments, so they have to pay somebody for web hosting. So your WP software is free, but your web server might cost a few, or a lot, of dollars.

    There’s a company called Automattic, and they run a service called WordPress.com. They HOST your website for you, so you don’t have to self-host it.

    WordPress.org is a non-profit organization that pretty much doesn’t sell anything.
    WordPress.com (Automattic) is a for-profit organization that gives away free (or “freemium”) WP websites and then lets you pay for extras if you want them. That’s what the “Own Domain Name” stuff was in Week 1. And they also have “custom design” upgrades. You wouldn’t be paying for that if you were self-hosted, but self hosting does put a bit more responsibility on you.

    Note that you can still customize some aspects of your theme without spending anything, and you can still make Pages (or posts) with some HTML on them if you want to control / change things beyond what the buttons can do for you.

    Tumblr and Blogger are both proprietary platforms from giant corporations. (Yahoo & Google). “Giant corporation” doesn’t necessarily mean “bad,” but it does mean that You are not the customer.

    I’m personally not too fond of Blogger. Tumblr really does rock. And for sure all of these platforms are very flexible and can do lots of things that the other platforms do. Nonetheless, while Tumblr’s super cool, I do think it is a bit of a virtual version of a teenager tearing pages out of a magazine and taping them to their bedroom walls. For me, WP is a lot more pro. Yes you can make lame stuff on WP, yes you can make great stuff on Tumblr, or Blogger, but on average I think WP is the strongest platform, and for sure it’s the one that respects your freedom and privacy.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you for the insight, Mr. Z! Your explanation has cleared up my misunderstanding as to why WP gives “freemiums”. I realize now that these “freemiums” are voluntary, and no one is pushing them down anyone’s throat. I’ve also realized that WP exists for businesses or up and coming entrepreneurs to say the least.

    I think I’m still caught up on Tumblr, most of all. Like you said, it is exactly a virtual version of collaging on walls (in my case, I have a journal) super easy. I realize now that even on the web, it’s time for me to change my game of blogging, and in a way graduate from Tumblr, and move into WP, just like the transition from high school to college.

    Like

Leave a Reply

